Ondaatje Scholarship

History of the Scholarship

In 2003 Sir Christopher Ondaatje kindly gave a very generous donation to the University to fund one-year scholarships for Buckingham graduates or for overseas graduates undertaking postgraduate studies at Buckingham, and for Buckingham students attending Massey College, University of Toronto, to undertake postgraduate studies there. Students who obtain a Master’s degree are then eligible to apply to have their PhD studies funded by the University of Toronto.

Scholarship details

We will be offering four scholarships for postgraduate study at Buckingham beginning in January 2017. Each scholarship will be awarded on merit and is open to competition.

The scholarships are worth up to £4,000 each towards one year’s postgraduate study.

Application procedure

Anyone interested in applying for the Ondaatje Scholarship should already have the offer of a place at Buckingham for postgraduate study, but cannot apply once they have commenced their Master’s degree. Completed applications should be sent to:

Debbie Millns
Admissions Manager
University of Buckingham
Hunter Street
MK18 1EG
United Kingdom

Applications should include a covering checklist (download here), an up-to-date Curriculum Vitae (CV), an academic reference and a letter stating your proposed programme of study, why you wish to undertake it and why you believe that you should be awarded the scholarship.

We will be promoting scholarships for our September 2017 entry early in 2017. Applications will open on Monday 3 April 2017.

The final decision regarding the awards will be made by the Deputy Vice-Chancellor. Candidates will be notified of the outcome within two weeks of the closing date. For current Buckingham undergraduates, awards will be conditional upon achieving a minimum of a 2:1 in their final December examinations.

Past Ondaatje scholars

2016 Halima Aden
Olivia Hunt
Chao-Jung Liu
Amira Svensk
Robert Tyler
2015 Meg Pettit
Kirsty Pegg
Nasir Ibrahim
2013 Corinne Price
2012 Meriel May Geolot
2011 Ardak Tauassarova
Mohamed Ali Mohamed Sood
Farnaz Mirshahi
2010 Emily Hill
2009 Megan Carpenter
Joel Valenzuela
2008 Jessica Antoine
Supriya Anil
Philipp Mueller
2007 Clive Kozah
Alifa Chowdhury
2006 Patricia C Prada Jimenez
2005 Patrick Byrne
2004 Setara Pracha

See also:

Find Your Course

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on StumbleUponShare on Google+Email this to someone
  • Some Friendly Advice …

    “In 2004-5 I had the honour to hold the first Ondaatje Scholarship. This position entitled me to spend a year as a Junior Fellow at Massey College, Toronto. (Courtesy of Sir Christopher Ondaatje – all expenses paid).

    “Dear Undergraduates, how can I tell you about this life changing experience?

    “I will state that it is a chance to stretch oneself intellectually. A chance to embrace a new set of ideas.  An exposure to new customs, and new friendships.  In brief – a new and improved you. If you have the desire for adventure,  a passion to learn, and are up for a challenge… Then apply to be this year’s Ondaatje Fellow!”

    Setara A. L. Pracha
    Buckingham, 2011

  • Prospectus

    Order a Prospectus

    Need a prospectus? Order one here.