Qualified Lawyers Transfer Test

The Qualified Lawyers Transfer Test (QLTT) is a conversion test that enables lawyers qualified in certain countries outside England and Wales, as well as UK barristers, to qualify as solicitors.

Buckingham LLB and LLM graduates who are qualified as lawyers may be eligible to transfer to the role of solicitors of England and Wales under the Qualified Lawyers Transfer Regulations 1990.


The first step is to apply to the Solicitors Regulation Authority (SRA) for a Certificate of Eligibility to sit the QLTT.

Apply to:

Solicitors Regulation Authority (SRA)
Ipsley Court
Berrington Close
B98 0TD
Tel: +44 (0)870 6062555
Web: www.sra.org.uk

The Certificate is valid for a period of 3 years, although you can apply for an extension.

Qualified lawyers from outside the European Union are also required to satisfy the SRA that they have gained two years of common law experience within the past five years; such experience must have been undertaken in three areas of common law and must have covered contentious and non-contentious areas of practice.

You cannot apply to sit the QLTT unless you have obtained the Certificate of Eligibility from the Law Society.

The Test

The QLTT covers four subject areas:

  • Head 1 – Property
  • Head 2 – Litigation
  • Head 3 – Professional conduct and accounts
  • Head 4 – Principles of common law

The SRA determines which QLTT head(s) or subject area(s) you must successfully complete.

Test Providers

Five providers are authorised by the SRA to administer the Qualified Lawyers Transfer Test (QLTT):

The above organisations offer a variety of distance learning, face-to-face and revision courses to prepare for the QLTT.

The University of Buckingham is not a QLTT provider.