Max Beloff Scholarship in Global Affairs

The Department of Economics and International Studies is proud to announce the Max Beloff Scholarship in Global Affairs.  This scholarship will be awarded exclusively to registered students on the MA in Global Affairs at the University of Buckingham.

Famous as ‘the only man to have founded a University’, Professor the Lord Beloff, KT,  was Gladstone Professor of Government and Public Administration and subsequently Professor Emeritus at Oxford University. In his long and varied career, Max Beloff taught or lectured on every continent, and he was the founder-principal of the University College at Buckingham (now the University of Buckingham). All the universities in the UK enjoy formal independence, but because the others accept government money they experience a significant loss of autonomy and only Buckingham is truly independent.  It is to Max Beloff that we owe this independence, and indeed, our very existence.  The Department is happy to acknowledge and underline its close intellectual and personal links to this most distinguished political scientist and to join with his family in honouring his name by the creation of the Scholarship.

Max Beloff was created a Life Peer in 1981 and in the House of Lords specialized in constitutional matters, foreign affairs, and higher education. Among his many books and articles are The Age of Absolutism, 1660-1815; The Foreign Policy of Soviet Russia; Thomas Jefferson and American Democracy; Imperial Sunset; and The Government of the United Kingdom.  Lord Beloff died in 1999.

The Max Beloff Scholarship in Global Affairs, which is worth £1,000, is awarded annually to the student with the best performance after the first six months’ study on the MA in Global Affairs programme.  The decision about the award is made by the Board of Examiners, at the recommendation of the Programme Co-ordinator.  The Dean of the School of Humanities and Social Sciences shall have discretion not to award the scholarship in any given year.  The scholarship is in the form of a cash sum.

Past winners:

  • 2007: Vrinda Choraria
  • 2008: Toyosi Gbenga Olawepo
  • 2009: Philipp Mueller & Jacobs Ajekigbe
  • 2010: Michael Courtney